Research & News
Bookmark and Share

Fraser Institute to honour the Rt. Hon. Brian Mulroney on anniversary of Free Trade Agreement

Media Contacts:
Release Date: June 28, 2007

MONTREAL, QC-The Fraser Institute, Canada's leading independent economic research and educational organization, will honour former Canadian Prime Minister the Rt. Hon. Brian Mulroney for his role in creating the Canada-U.S. Free Trade Agreement.

The Institute will present Mr. Mulroney with the T. Patrick Boyle Founder's Award at a special celebration of the 20th anniversary of the completion of negotiations for the FTA on October 4, 2007 at the ballroom of Le Windsor in Montreal.

Named for the Fraser Institute's first chairman, the award is the Institute's highest honour and is given annually to recognize excellence and accomplishment in the promotion of economic freedom and free market ideas. Past recipients include Lady Margaret Thatcher, Czech Republic President Vaclav Klaus, and the late Milton Friedman.

Research conducted by The Fraser Institute and others has conclusively established that the FTA and its successor, NAFTA, have proven to be the greatest spur to economic liberalization and progress in Canada's history.

"Overwhelming evidence clearly shows that without the vision and leadership shown by Brian Mulroney in negotiating the Free Trade Agreement with the United States, Canadians would not have enjoyed the economic progress and improved standards of living we have experienced over the past 20 years," said Mark Mullins, Fraser Institute Executive Director.

The event coincides with the launch of Mr. Mulroney's long-anticipated book, Memoirs .

"This is a great event for Montreal and a unique opportunity for all Canadians to recognize the foresight and accomplishments of Brian Mulroney.  In particular, with the signing of the FTA, which paved the way for NAFTA, he made - and continues to make - an exceptional contribution to the economic prosperity and development of our country," declared Isabelle Hudon, president and CEO of the Board of Trade of Metropolitan Montreal and co-chair of the organizing committee for this event.

Among those joining Hudon on the committee are M. Pierre Akkelian, M. Michel Kelly Gagnon, Senator Leo Kolber, Mr. David Laidley, M. John Parisella, and Me Bernard Roy.

Tickets are available through the Fraser Institute's Montreal office.